Album Review

Album Review: Moth by Chairlift

I love Chairlift. But, before Moth, there used to be only one song that hooked me so much in their album, like I belong To Your Arms in their album–Something or Bruises in their album–Does You Inspire You. Both songs are so good that it still makes me curious whenever Chairlift releases a single or an album.



Track listing:

1. “Look Up” 2:14
2. “Polymorphing” 4:43
3. “Romeo” 3:08
4. “Ch-Ching” 3:47
5. “Crying in Public” 4:28
6. “Ottawa to Osaka” 4:55
7. “Moth to the Flame” 2:57
8. “Show U Off” 3:32
9. “Unfinished Business” 4:33
10. “No Such Thing as Illusion” 6:26

You can quite expect what will you get from Moth the first time you listen to Look Up as the opening for the album. Yes, it promising us an experiment in electro-pop music with a various tempo and Caroline Polachek voice still dominating the songs. There’s quite experiment with saxophone in Polymorphing and enchanting experiment tunes in Ottawa to Osaka and No Such Thing as Illusion. Those songs are quite hypnotizing and engaging for me that I could listen to it and weirdly feel a bit calm. Though you may raise an eyebrow to read this, but Ottawa to Osaka is kinda relaxing to listen when I want to let my mind wandering around.

Aside from the new tunes, don’t you worry, you can still find their signature music in their up beat song, take a listen to RomeoCh-Ching (my favorite lyrics from all of the song in Moth!), Moth to the Flame, and Show it Off. The exact composition makes you able to sing and dancing at the same time without having to worry you’ll run out of breath. Crying in Public is also my favorite. The lyrics are touchy and the music has a charm that able to soothe you. It’s hard not to feel empathy towards this love song.

My least favorite probably will be Unfinished Business. In some parts, the high tunes makes me cringe, though this one kinda feel quite emotionally one, don’t you think? Once again, I think Polachek’s voice gives so much impact.

Now that I think what makes Moth different from and makes me like it more that their other albums is it feels like natural to listen to the songs, almost without thinking, the songs could be accompany me when I do something, commute, reading, even writing. It feels fit in. Their uniqueness lay in the hodgepodge tunes that surprisingly get along nicely with Polachek’s voice. The way she sings, which sometimes in a murmur’s mode, the other time in a high pitch’s mode, make it hard to resist to join her singing the song.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s