Album Review

Album Review: Wild Things From Ladyhawke

Actually, it is quite rare for me to like almost all songs from someone’s album in one time play. Have you ever feel that kind of feeling? I remember I felt that kind of feeling when I heard The Corrs’s albums Talk On Corners and In Blue, Sara Bareilles’s album Kaleidoscope Heart and The Blessed Unrest, The Strumbellas’s album Hope, and Haim’s album Days Are Gone. But, it is happening again when I hear Ladyhawke’s new album Wild Things.

Honestly, I never heard the music from Ladyhawke before until I heard her new album which already released since June 2016. But Phillipa Brown totally did it. She already made me falling in love with her music since the first time I heard it. I always love the way Ladyhawke combine the tunes of the piano with the electro elements and it makes whole album become so interesting for me.

Ladyhawke

Wild Things album includes 11 great song with great electro tunes in every song. A Love Song definitely a perfect song to open this album. This song is an upbeat song with a catchy electro tunes which already gave a great first impression and makes me wonder to listen other songs from this album. Next song called The River, once again, got my attentions. The beat of the drum in the beginning with the tune of piano until the rest of the song already made me addicted to her music. In third track, she try to slow the tempo with Wild Things. The beat is a little bit slower than the two song before, but the tunes of electro instruments still strong in this song. Let It Roll, Chills, and Sweet Fascination are another upbeat song with rich tunes and crowd arrangements. I think I can hear so many melodies from so many instruments and it is so good.

Next song is Golden Girl which one of my favorite song from this album. The sound of ‘ukulele like’ is quite refreshing especially when it combine with electro tunes and the beat of the drum. Hillside Avenue is another great and dance-able songs from the album. I don’t know somehow the tempo makes me overwhelmed when I hear it. I’m sure at least you will shake your body a little bit when you hear this song. Money To Burn and Wonderland are my favorite songs from this album. I really love Wonderland. The tunes of piano at the chorus always gave me chills every time I heard it. So good and I can’t stop listen this song until now. Last but not least, Dangerous is a great song to ending the journey of the album.

As conclusion, three words for this album: Refreshing, Addicting, and Dance-able. So good. I’m sure you’re gonna love it. So, why don’t you try to listen Ladyhawke’s new album Wild Things on her Spotify and get prepare for a little bit dancing.

Tracklist:

  1. A Love Song (3:24)
  2. The River (3:27)
  3. Wild Things (5:13)
  4. Let It Roll (3:08)
  5. Chills (3:10)
  6. Sweet Fascination (3:49)
  7. Golden Girl (3:04)
  8. Hillside Avenue (2:39)
  9. Money To Burn (2:39)
  10. Wonderland (3:34)
  11. Dangerous (3:41)

Elsa

Standard

Leave a Reply

