Album Review

Album Review: To Bring You My Heart from The Katherines

First, I have to tell you that I just need one song to falling in love with this awesome and talented ladies from Vancouver, The Katherines. Right! Another Canadian musician already stole my ears with their great music. Many source called them as ‘Canadian Haim’, but from my opinion their music totally different. Kate Kurdyak, Lauren Kurdyak, and Hansen-Boucher definitely brought something unique to hear.

I accidentally found one of The Katherinesโ€™ song, Primitive, through the discover section on Spotify and somehow, I falling in love with this song since the first hear. Then, I feel so curious about their music and I found out they just released their debut LP on last January 2017 called To Bring You My Heart. This album includes 13 songs track list and I have to admit that this album was some kind of great treat for me.

The Katherines introduced us into something unique and refreshing in their debut LP. They bring their own music character and makes each song has its own muse. It makes me feel so overwhelmed and get exciting when I listened their album. Somehow, I can find so many music genres in their music, from pop, rock, dance, R&B, electro, even 60โ€™s pop-blues or the combination between genres. Now I understand why so many source called them as ‘Harmony Masters’.

Cherry Lips definitely a great song to start the journey of this album. This song has a nice drum beat and beautiful sound of dreampop guitar. Both melodies combined with Kateโ€™s smooth voice makes this song so good to hear. Ultra Violet has more beat than other songs with the touch of dance-pop elements. In the third song, The Katherines made a duet with Frederick to sing an interesting synth-pop song called Better Off Now. Their voice just perfect each other. Next song is one of my most favorite song in this album, Primitive. In this song, The Katherines collaborate with Charlie Kerr and Steve Bays to write this song. You can hear the sound of electronic percussion and 80โ€™s keyboard tones and makes this song so catchy to hear. Honestly, I can’t stop listening to this song until now. ๐Ÿ™‚

You will hear a great combination between the electronic and classic instruments like cello and violin in breakup ballad song, Heart On The Table. While Minefield and Blank Page represented pop-rock song in this album with the touch of electric guitar. You still can hear string instrument combined with pop melodies in To Bring You My Heart. KiDs also has the touch of electro-pop elements with a catchy melodies.

You definitely has something different from the other song. The Katherines brings the sound of 60โ€™s pop-blues melodies in this song. Definitely something catchy, unique, and refreshing. Wrong Side Of The Bed is another my most favorite song of this album. The pop-dance melodies with the touch of cheerful and playful guitar sound makes this song so great to hear. Tomorrow and Replay brings also has a great melodies and become a perfect way to end the journey of this album.

Overall, this is one of the most enjoying album Iโ€™ve ever heard in 2017. The way The Katherines introduce their music character is so unique and refreshing. They are definitely something. I think they will be huge really soon. So, if you havenโ€™t heard their debut LP yet, why don’t you try to listen it and Iโ€™m sure you will have a unique experience when you listened this album. Donโ€™t forget to share your thoughts about this album by give comment in our music blog. Thank you and enjoy the music folks!

Elsa

Standard

Leave a Reply

