Album Review

Album Review: Reservoir – Gordi

I think I might too late if I write about Gordi’s latest album, but I hope all of you still can enjoy this article because honestly, I can’t stop listening Reservoir until now. This album is too good, too genius, and too wonderful and somehow its hard for me to describe it. But yes, I already falling in love with Gordi since the first time I hear Can We Work It Out. Then, she released her debut EP called Clever Disguise and once again, I falling in love with each song in that EP. Now, Gordi just released her debut studio album called Reservoir on last August and she never stop amazed me with her music. Okay, let me tell you about this album

Long Way become the first song that you will hear from this album and it is definitely a great song to start the journey from this album. From this song, I can tell you that Gordi absolutely a musical genius. The combination between every instruments and sound effect and of course Gordi’s wonderful voice makes everything so perfect to hear. She proved it once again in the second song called All The Light We Cannot See. This song has more upbeat from the first one, but the element of folktronica already become Gordi’s music characteristic.

The next song is On My Side and I think this is the most upbeat song in this album. The touch of acoustic guitar combined with the percussion and electronic instruments makes everything so beautiful. Quite different with the next song. Bitter End is a slow tempo song with guitar and piano sound as the main interest, but the percussion beats at the end brings something that gave me goosebumps from head to toe. Bitter End definitely one of my favorite from this album.

Heaven I Know also my favorite song from this album. This melodies and the lyrics makes me lost my words to describe about this song. Everything so perfect to hear from the repeated whispered rhythm at the beginning , the looping, piano sound, until the sound layers. Somehow, Gordi try to make us understand what she feels towards this song. The next song called I’m Done. You can hear the folk elements are thicker in this song from the acoustic guitar and trumpets sounds.

For how many times, Gordi proved again that she is totally musical genius through Myriad and Aeon. The sound layers and looping definitely makes me speechless. The string sounds in Aeon is the new thing from her music and makes me falling deeper towards this album. The next song also my favorite song from this album. It is Can We Work It Out. Yes, this song is the first song that makes me falling in love with Gordi’s music. What a perfect combination between the percussion, the guitar, electronic instruments, and of course Gordi’s wonderful voice.

Gordi brings new sound in Better Than Then, Closer To No. This time is electronic guitar and it is so good when its combined with electronic instruments. Something Like This become the last song from this awesome album. As usual, Gordi show us her magnificent skill making wonderful song by the combination from every musical instruments. Definitely so good.

That’s it. Somehow, eleven song never enough for me so I have to play this album over and over again. If I can give this album score, I will give 8.5 for this album. For you who haven’t heard Reservoir yet, I suggest you to hear this album and I guarantee you also falling in love with this album too. Thank you and I hope you enjoy this article.

Elsa

Standard

Leave a Reply

